Award Details

Award Name

Denison Ray Award

Submission Deadline


Possible Recipients


Open To
  • Faculty
  • Staff
  • Bar & Bench
Award Sponsor

National Legal Aid & Defender Association (NLADA)

The "Denny" award honors an individual who has provided exceptional service to the civil legal aid community as a staff member, client board member, or volunteer of a provider program for five years or more. Nominees may be, but do not have to be, attorneys. *Only NLADA members of the NLADA may nominate.
Eligible nominees have either: (1) extraordinarily contributed to the goal of achieving equal justice for low-income people; (2) demonstrated leadership in a local, state, or national role and has acted as a mentor for others; (3) set an inspirational example of industriousness, creativity, and determination in their legal aid work; or (4) exhibits a passionate quest for fairness and equality and a history of commitment to equal justice.

Important Dates

Important Date

Submission Deadline

Important Date

Nomination deadline

Award Prizes

Other Prize
Complimentary registration to the NLADA Annual Conference for the formal presentation

First Place